The Collector
  • The Collector
  • The Collector
ISBN: 1338212249
EAN13: 9781338212242
Language: English
Release Date: Aug 28, 2018
Pages: 224
Dimensions: 0.5511811" H x 7.637795" L x 5.19685" W
Weight: 0.3527396 lbs.
Format: Paperback
Select Format Format: Paperback Select Conditions Condition: Acceptable

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Acceptable

$3.49
List Price: $8.16
Save: $4.67 (57%)
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 3 at this price.
Add 4 More to Qualify
Buy 3, Get 1 Free
All Books Under $5

Select Conditions
  • Acceptable $3.49 The Collector
  • Good $3.88 The Collector
  • New $8.16 The Collector
Book Overview

A spooky doll story filled with thrills and chills, for fans of Mary Downing Hahn and Neil Gaiman.

Josie always liked visiting her grandmother's house. But when she's forced to move there, she starts to feel like something is a little . . . off. Her grandmother has some very strange rules: Never leave your windows open after dark.No dolls in the house.Never, ever go by the house in the woods.A little spooked, Josie is relieved to find that her school seems pretty normal. She even manages to make friends with a popular girl named Vanessa. When Vanessa invites Josie back to her house to hang out, Josie doesn't question it. Not even when Vanessa takes her into the woods, and down an old dirt road, toward the very house her grandmother had warned her about . . .The house that has been calling for her.

Frequently bought together

Total price: $11.06

Add all 3 to Cart Add all 3 to list

Frequently Asked Questions About The Collector

Book Reviews (8)

4
  |   8  reviews
Did you read The Collector? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
1
   Good grief, this is terrible.
Mary Elizabeth Hahn, who wrote the book, is not related to the writer. I would not be surprised to find that it was written by a 3rd or 4th grader. The ending is just too bad. Ms. Alexander needs to rethink their chosen career or at least start taking writing classes right away before attempting another book.
 
5
   Excellent middle grade horror
The Collector is a spine-tingling, neck-aching, picture book for collectors. Part Hitchcockian, part Texas A&M. Rundown house in the woods Scary witch Creepy dollstimes a billion I'm going to have to get more books by this author.
 
5
   Great Book
Second, I must say, great book. It was a dream come true for me to read it to my boys on their way to Disney. The company wants me to buy more books by this author.
 
5
   Great Book for Pre-Teen
She had read it from cover to cover the day it came. She was to loan the book out to some of her friends, but she was very reluctant because she enjoyed it so much. I love to see her read with such enthusiasm, I read this book also and thought it was well written for her age group, said Jennette. I was very pleased with this book, to see my granddaughter reading and now she is watching the sequel.
 
5
   Must read...fourth graders
Great thriller, perfect for Fourth-graders. The girls, who did not want to go, found themselves in a similar situation. There was no wifi, and the phone was dead. She had three rules to follow: no smoking, no drinking and no lying. Things Creepy did happen when they did!
 
5
   My son loved this book
It's my sons favorite book he has read so far. He is also interested in other stories other than video games, the Web site said. He really enjoyed it, said Dr. Chester Floyd, who co-chaired the inquiry. Yes, I will be reading the book as well as my wife during our Christmas break.
 
3
   This book had so much potential
The book had so much potential, Frey said. It's great to see the original premise was used, but the plot was a bit overused. It was a perfect marriage, the grandmother and her rules. I also enjoyed the character of Vanessa and her dark secret, Morgenthau said. However, the book wraps up too fast at the end. As you reach the climax the problem is solved within a page in the story, just ends in a picture perfect way. It almost felt like a parody. There was no immediate explanation for the magic that brought Abraham to his knees. It was a major disappointment, Mr. Rule told the judge. If you like the genre of ghost stories, I would try a different book than the collector.
 
3
   A decent kid's book.
It was the perfect present for my 10 year old daughter. She was very excited to read it, even though she didn't get to the book. She said the book was "not very scary, and I read through it in about two hours."
 
1