The Girl Who Fell Beneath The Sea
ISBN: 1666526061
EAN13: 9781666526066
Language: English
Release Date: Feb 22, 2022
Pages: 0
Format: Compact Disc
Product is currently Out of Stock.
You can add it to your wishlist and you will be notified once we receive a copy.
Book Overview

This Description may be from another edition of this product.

Axie Oh's The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is an enthralling feminist retelling of the classic Korean folktale The Tale of Shim Cheong, perfect for fans of Wintersong, Uprooted, and Miyazaki's Spirited Away.

Deadly storms have ravaged Mina's homeland for generations. Floods sweep away entire villages, while bloody wars are waged over the few remaining resources. Her people believe the Sea God, once their protector, now curses them with death and despair. In an attempt to appease him, each year a beautiful maiden is thrown into the sea to serve as the Sea God's bride, in the hopes that one day the true bride will be chosen and end the suffering.

Many believe that Shim Cheong, the most beautiful girl in the village--and the beloved of Mina's older brother Joon--may be the legendary true bride. But on the night Cheong is to be sacrificed, Joon follows Cheong out to sea, even knowing that to interfere is a death sentence. To save her brother, Mina throws herself into the water in Cheong's stead.

Swept away to the Spirit Realm, a magical city of lesser gods and mythical beasts, Mina seeks out the Sea God, only to find him caught in an enchanted sleep. With the help of a mysterious young man named Shin--as well as a motley crew of demons, gods and Read More chevron_right

Frequently Asked Questions About The Girl Who Fell Beneath The Sea

Book Reviews (8)

5
  |   8  reviews
Did you read The Girl Who Fell Beneath The Sea? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
4
   A beautiful tale with heavy Spirited Away vibes
I'm so happy that the story of family and love has been told. I got heavy Spirited Away vibes from this story, too, Bernadette said. I'd read that this was a retelling of the true story of the legendary "Tale of Two Rivers" by novelists J.R.A. Rowling and Elizabeth Gilbert. Like and relatable to a certain degree, MC is also very realistic and can be portrayed as a bit naive, but kindhearted. He has a very good reputation and I'm looking for someone who is kind, patient and handsome. There are some very cool pictures of the Gods and Goddesses and spirits that I'll never forget. The Web site also laments the loss of "the Spirit World and Mina's hometown." Elizabeth Taylor, the devotion to her family and the courage to speak out were admirable qualities. In the third person, Elizabeth Byrnes reveals her true feelings about the show. 4 stars because the middle dragged on and I had to force myself to keep reading, and there were many times where I felt as if nothing was happening. I'm not a huge movie buff, but I really enjoyed The Girl Who Fell Into the Sea.
 
3
   I mean? It wasn't bad
It reads more like fanfiction, with less of the folklore. There are many homages to the author's influences which makes the story fairly enjoyable but also so predictable and slightly less enjoyable. It's an easy read, but fell flat with a lot of the supporting cast. He's just that side of Mary Sue. But the vague and bearable kind that only takes away from the story when she has a couple of really convenient epiphanies, or when she wins everyone over with her personality. It's just that not bad, not great, not likely to reread. He said he would have preferred to have purchased the property in person.
 
5
   Beautiful written tale!
This was a beautifully written parable of wisdom, Matthew said. It embraces many areas of life we have all journeyed. The coming of age to love, to let go, of forgiveness and of taking hold of our own fate. I look forward to reading more from this author.
 
5
   PHENOMENAL!
This book truly reads like a Ghibli film, with its whimsy and imagery, Hayao said. I read it in a day, said Blair. It's not your typical fantasy novel.
 
5
   Get this book!
I cannot recommend this book highly enough. The world-building skills of the authors are just incredible. I find myself drifting into work imagining myself inside the spirit realm along with the characters. A beautiful story, with beautiful imagery, Tunick said. Please do not hesitate to get your hands on this book.
 
5
   Delightful soothing read
I picked up this book because I follow the cover artist on Instagram and thus had no idea what it was about, Morgenthau said. Mr Hughes said: "I was completely delighted with the story. If you enjoy Studio Ghibli's "Spirited Away," you'll probably enjoy this book, too. There are definitely strong parallels between the two main characters, but enough differences to make it worth the read. I enjoyed the stories that Mina recounts from her family, Morgenthau said. In addition to being exactly the type of story I was looking for, the book itself was perfect for reading with one hand so I could enjoy the story while I cooked. It's light, easy to flip pages, and doesn't have to be too big or too small to fit in the palm of my hand.
 
5
   Like Gaiman crossed with Miyazaki
I couldn't put it down. I was drawn in by strong characters and a luscious, beautifully described world, said Gillian. If you like stories like The Graveyard Book, then you will love this book. If you like Miyazaki films, like "Spirited Away," you will love this book. Highly recommend.
 
5
   love it
Remarkable story. Truly beautiful and wonderful, Tunick said. This is the second book I've read this year that I absolutely love.
 
1