The Incredible Journey
ISBN: 0553274422
EAN13: 9780553274424
Language: English
Pages: 145
Dimensions: 0.6" H x 6.6" L x 4.1" W
Weight: 0.15 lbs.
Publisher:
Select Format Format: Others Select Conditions Condition: Acceptable

Selected

Format: Others

Condition: Acceptable

$3.49
Quantity
6 Available
Add 4 More to Qualify
Buy 3, Get 1 Free
All Books Under $5

Select Conditions
  • Acceptable $3.49 The Incredible Journey
  • Good $3.88 The Incredible Journey
Book Overview

This Description may be from another edition of this product.

Fans of Old Yeller, Where the Red Fern Grows, and Shiloh will love this timeless classic about two dogs and a cat that embark on a journey to return to their owner and inspired the movie Homeward Bound.

An inquisitive Labrador retriever, friendly bull terrier, and courageous Siamese cat set out through the Canadian wilderness to find their owner in this truly incredible adventure.
Instinct tells them that the way home lies to the west and together the three house pets face hunger, the natural elements, and wild forest animals as they make their way home to the family they love.
This beloved classic that inspired the movie Homeward Bound has captured the hearts of generations of readers. The lengths to which these three animals will go for each other and for their owner make for a thrilling and thoroughly unforgettable tale.

Captivating A tale of charm and] high drama.--The New York Times

A classic.--The Atlantic

From the youngest child.to the oldest grown-up, there is something here for everyone.--The Horn Book

An incredible book A beautiful story so moving that it stays in the mind constantly. It is a gem to be treasured.--The St. Louis Read More chevron_right

Frequently Asked Questions About The Incredible Journey

Book Reviews (11)

5
  |   11  reviews
Did you read The Incredible Journey? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
5
   It's as Good Now as it Was in 1968!
Here I am waiting laundry to be wonderful, crying at the ending of a complete book, just as I did so many years ago as a child. To those who remember, the teacher would give a small pamphlet every year with a list of books for their students to read outside school. This book was an early favorite of mine because I grew up with pets and a Siamese in particular. Because my wife and I have a new kitten a Siamese kitten, we were trying to find a name and came across Tao on an online list. Immediately I uploaded this book to my Kindle app and read it quickly. Frankly, I was surprised at how well I remembered the details of the book and how happy and magical it made me feel! I recommend this book highly to anyone who loves cats and dogs, as a primer for the James Herriot books.
 
4
   Animal Adventure
This book was about two dogs and one cat. The terrier was injured by a bear. He accidentally went downstream where the dogs couldn t find him. At the end, they found each other again. I liked this book because the dogs and cat returned to their owners at the end.
 
3
   overall the book is a little slow and pretty dated. Not a great read aloud candidate
I received this book as a read aloud for my class, thinking that it would be an exciting story with animal protagonists. I am also hoping that it would be engaging, as the Disney retelling or in the same vein as Gary Paulsen's Hatchet. Although there are some interesting parts, the book is a bit late and pretty dated. Not a candidate for read aloud.
 
5
   The Incredible Journey
I had to read the book for school and loved it! It was cute, but it had a little gore in it. The only thing I did not like was that there were a lot of adjectives wise to me, but the book is amazing cute and action packed, you should definitely get it!
 
5
   Wow!
There are happy parts, but it ends up sad. There are lots of exciting adventures with a cat, a young hunting dog, and an old bull terrier. If you love animals like me, you will love this book, just like I did.
 
3
   The Incredible Journey
Both my grandson and myself were very enjoyable.
 
5
   a classic great for all children
Got it for my Godson, who turned 5. His mother reads it to him and he loves it.
 
5
   Fun to read
My sons friends are reading this book for the book club. He is an animal lover, so he doesn 't want me to stop him from reading it to him. I do have to explain several words to him on the way. It is a little advanced for his age. But we love it.
 
4
   Get for reading to kids
I read it with my eight-year-old daughter before bedtime. It is very descriptive and I love the personalities of the animals, especially the cat. The reason why I gave it four stars instead of five is because I didn 't really get into it until the middle of the book. It had a bit of a slow start, but then the author painted the picture again and explained a lot. There were also a decent amount of words that I was unfamiliar with. When I started reading it, the wording seemed a bit before its time, and some of the sentences I truly didn 't follow. But, these things are on me! I would recommend this book to other parents who are looking for a new novel to read to elementary-aged children. After reading the book we watched the movie Homeward Bound and both me and my daughter agreed that the book was better. We liked the original characters better than those in the film, so that the book made us fall in love with the animals. Overall, a really great story.
 
5
   An amazingly good tale
This story never fails to hold your heart, steal your breath and grab you first page to last. If you haven 't read it, read it. If you have already read it, read it again.
 
12