The Lives Of The Twelve Caesars -Caligula-
ISBN: 1617205265
EAN13: 9781617205262
Language: English
Release Date: Jan 6, 2012
Pages: 38
Dimensions: 0.24" H x 8.74" L x 5.83" W
Weight: 0.18 lbs.
Format: Paperback
Select Format Format: Paperback Select Conditions Condition: New


Format: Paperback

Condition: New

94 Available

Select Conditions
  • New $11.31 The Lives Of The Twelve Caesars -Caligula-
Book Overview

This Description may be from another edition of this product.

Gaius Suetonius Tranquillus (c70-c140), also known as Suetonius, was a prominent Roman historian and biographer. He is mainly remembered as the author of De Vita Caesarum (Lives of the Caesars, best known in English as The Twelve Caesars), his only extant work. The Twelve Caesars, probably written in Hadrian's time, is a collective biography of the Roman Empire's first leaders who were: Julius Caesar, Augustus, Tiberius, Caligula, Claudius, Nero, Galba, Otho, Vitellius, Vespasian, Titus and Domitian. The work tells the tale of each Caesar's life according to a set formula: the descriptions of appearance, omens, family history, quotes, and then a history are given in a consistent order for each Caesar. Suetonius regarded emperors who amassed wealth for the public purse to be greedy, perhaps a reflection of the average Roman middle class attitudes.

Frequently Asked Questions About The Lives Of The Twelve Caesars -Caligula-

The Lives of the Twelve Caesars Series In Order - By G S Tranquillus

Book Reviews (0)

  |   0  reviews
Did you read The Lives Of The Twelve Caesars -Caligula-? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review

No customer reviews for the moment.