The Mercury 13: The Untold Story of Thirteen American Women and the Dream of Space Flight
ISBN: 0786258187
EAN13: 9780786258185
Language: English
Pages: 434
Dimensions: 1.1" H x 8.7" L x 5.78" W
Weight: 1.43 lbs.
Format: Hardcover
Product is currently Out of Stock.
You can add it to your wishlist and you will be notified once we receive a copy.
Book Overview

This Description may be from another edition of this product.

For readers of The Astronaut Wives Club, The Mercury 13 reveals the little-known true story of the remarkable women who trained for NASA space flight.

In 1961, just as NASA launched its first man into space, a group of women underwent secret testing in the hopes of becoming America's first female astronauts. They passed the same battery of tests at the legendary Lovelace Foundation as did the Mercury 7 astronauts, but they were summarily dismissed by the boys' club at NASA and on Capitol Hill. The USR sent its first woman into space in 1963; the United States did not follow suit for another twenty years.

For the first time, Martha Ackmann tells the story of the dramatic events surrounding these thirteen remarkable women, all crackerjack pilots and patriots who sometimes sacrificed jobs and marriages for a chance to participate in America's space race against the Soviet Union. In addition to talking extensively to these women, Ackmann interviewed Chuck Yeager, John Glenn, Scott Carpenter, and others at NASA and in the White House with firsthand knowledge of the program, and includes here never-before-seen photographs of the Mercury 13 passing their Lovelace tests.

Despite the crushing disappointment of watching their dreams being derailed, the Mercury 13 went on to Read More chevron_right

Frequently Asked Questions About The Mercury 13: The Untold Story of Thirteen American Women and the Dream of Space Flight

Book Reviews (0)

0
  |   0  reviews
Did you read The Mercury 13: The Untold Story of Thirteen American Women and the Dream of Space Flight? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha

No customer reviews for the moment.