The Miniaturist
  • The Miniaturist
  • The Miniaturist
  • The Miniaturist
ISBN: 0062306847
EAN13: 9780062306845
Language: English
Release Date: Jun 2, 2015
Pages: 416
Dimensions: 1.1" H x 8.3" L x 5.3" W
Weight: 0.5 lbs.
Format: Paperback
Publisher:
Select Format Format: Paperback Select Conditions Condition: Good

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Good

$4.18
Quantity
9 Available
Add 4 More to Qualify
Buy 3, Get 1 Free
All Books Under $5

Select Conditions
  • Good $4.18 The Miniaturist
  • Very Good $4.68 The Miniaturist
Book Overview

Now a television miniseries, as seen on Masterpiece on PBS

Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam--a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion--a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant.

There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed . . .

On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office--leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin.

But Nella's world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist--an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways . . .

Johannes' gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand--and fear--the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be Read More chevron_right

Frequently bought together

Total price: $11.85

Add all 3 to Cart Add all 3 to list

Frequently Asked Questions About The Miniaturist

Book Reviews (2)

2
  |   2  reviews
Did you read The Miniaturist? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
2
   I read to the end hoping to find out and left disappointed.
I wouldn't have read The Muse if I had read it first. I was at the end of the book and wondered what it was about. It was very detailed about the time it was set, Holland in the 17 th century, but I felt that it was trying to go too many places at once. Women and their limited role, sexual freedom, merchant trading are tied up with some allusion to the supernatural. The miniaturist of the title is referred to as having some sort of power, but it is never explored. Why she should be concerned is never explained. I was hoping to find out, but was disappointed.
 
1
   Couldn't do it
I gave up after a number of attempts to get through the first chapter. There are too many good books to read in one sitting. The good reviews are hard for me to understand.
 
1