The Quiet Man
  • The Quiet Man
  • The Quiet Man
ISBN: 0578788349
EAN13: 9780578788340
Language: English
Pages: 303
Dimensions: 0.76" H x 8" L x 5" W
Weight: 0.89 lbs.
Format: Paperback
Publisher:
Select Format Format: Paperback Select Conditions Condition: Very Good

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Very Good

$9.02
List Price: $20
Save: $10.98 (54%)
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 1 at this price.

Select Conditions
  • Very Good $9.02 The Quiet Man
  • Good $20.84 The Quiet Man
  • New $20.00 The Quiet Man

Frequently Asked Questions About The Quiet Man

Book Reviews (9)

5
  |   9  reviews
Did you read The Quiet Man? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
5
   How to Abuse a Bunny ...
B unny McGarry, The Sisters and Friends are on another adventure. This time in a US prison. Bunny was mainly swinging a wicked hurley and throwing baddies off of balconies. He seems to be taking a lot more abuse, but still shining through with wit and not- at- all- false bravado, and warmth and compassion, even in prison. There is another wonderful book for the series.
 
2
   Contrived
T he first few books in this series were hilarious. The whole concept became too contrived and tedious after Bunny arrived in America.I will not be returning for any future continuations of this story.
 
5
   Thanks CM!
E xcellent book! The Quiet Man is a novel that has set a high bar for others, but it was enjoyable. If you' re looking for a good read and an addictive distraction, this is a great one. It is filled with eccentric characters, interesting plot lines, and a satirical poke at political and cultural norms. Any novelist with Bunny McGarry is likely to be entertaining.
 
5
   Well plotted and easy to follow
T he book shows the improvement of the writer. Some of his earlier work did not sink into shock fiction. It consists of a coherent whole storyline of intricate threads that resolve beautifully at the end. The plots are consistent and rational. At an appropriate rate, the tension increases with interesting exposition and details.I was happy with the way the bad guys were dealt with. My kind of books.
 
5
   This is such great fun!
C aimh McDonnel has written some wonderful books before, but this one takes the cake. Nuf said that it was Bunny McGarry. My sister and I were laughing at the same time. It is definitely a crazy ride. She said that I would have to stop and massage my cheeks because they would hurt so much from laughing and smiling. She was correct about it. This is your best book yet and I have read all of them.I want Zoya on my side for the apocalypse because Sister Joy is a nun after my heart. Thanks for making us very happy. Ginny cross, lacey.
 
5
   could be the best one so far - and they are all really good
I wanted to savor every chapter and make it last for a long time, so I had to pace myself with this one. The nuns are back in action! How much fun, philosophy, thriller and action story can come from one man's head? You can't go wrong with any of the stories, and this one is truly one of the best. The guy's website and other writings like his short stories are all pleasant places to visit for great stories, good writing. There are a lot of wonderful adventures in the world of books.
 
5
   Another winner in the McGarry Stateside series
T he good guys always win, the questionable guys get schooled, and the bad guys get what's coming to them in my perfect world. My perfect world view seems to be shared by Caimh McDonnell. This book is not part of a series. You don't have to know the new and returning characters to enjoy the story. The roller coaster of fun begins with Bunny, although not so much as he would have you believe. As in every Caimh McDonnell book, there are so many laugh out loud moments. The Sisters of the Saints have a new story for Zoya and Dionne. You want the women on your side. Every time, the running gag with Sister Theresa made me laugh. The unexpected appearance of Smithy and Diller made for a lot of fun. They had recovered from their trip to Nowhere. Bunny is still looking for Simone.I'm looking forward to following along with his quest.
 
5
   Bunny gets better and better
It took me a while to get into the Bunny McGarry series because I didn't like the Dublin trilogy and didn't like the Stateside series.I love Bunny even more now that I have read a few. Bunny's progress toward finding his lost and in- danger, love Simone takes out loud detour to the Nevada desert in the book. Bunny, working with the Sisters of the Saint, is forced to find a way to break a prisoner out of a high- security prison. McDonnell's writing combines wickedly well drawn characters and humor that is sharply observant yet humane. He creates laugh- out- loud humor from self- delusion and hypocrisy.I hope to read more books from this author.
 
5
   a super fun adventure in a super secure prison!
I tripped over A Man With One of Those Faces a couple of years ago, and have read all of Caimh McDonnell's books. The dialogue crackles, the action pops, and the author does a great job of introducing recurring characters without using California Conversations. You don't need to read any of the other books to understand the plot of this book, but you should because they are hilarious. It's recommended for fans of Donald Westlake or Terry Pratchett.
 
1