The Real Valkyrie: The Hidden History of Viking Warrior Women
  • The Real Valkyrie: The Hidden History of Viking Warrior Women
  • The Real Valkyrie: The Hidden History of Viking Warrior Women
ISBN: 1250200849
EAN13: 9781250200846
Language: English
Release Date: Aug 31, 2021
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover
Select Format Format: Hardcover Select Conditions Condition: New

Selected

Format: Hardcover

Condition: New

$29.99
Quantity
66 Available

Select Conditions
  • New $29.99 The Real Valkyrie: The Hidden History of Viking Warrior Women
Book Overview

In the tradition of Stacy Schiff's Cleopatra, Brown lays to rest the hoary myth that Viking society was ruled by men and celebrates the dramatic lives of female Viking warriors

Once again, Brown brings Viking history to vivid, unexpected life--and in the process, turns what we thought we knew about Norse culture on its head. Superb. --Scott Weidensaul, author of New York Times bestselling A World on the Wing

Magnificent. It captured me from the very first page. --Pat Shipman, author of The Invaders

A complex, important, and delightful addition to women's history. --Pamela D. Toler, author of Women Warriors: An Unexpected History

In 2017, DNA tests revealed to the collective shock of many scholars that a Viking warrior in a high-status grave in Birka, Sweden was actually a woman. The Real Valkyrie weaves together archaeology, history, and literature to imagine her life and times, showing that Viking women had more power and agency than historians have imagined.

Nancy Marie Brown uses science to link the Birka warrior, whom she names Hervor, to Viking trading towns and to their great trade route east to Byzantium and beyond. She imagines her life intersecting with larger-than-life but real women, including Queen Gunnhild Mother-of-Kings, the Viking leader known as The Red Girl, and Read More chevron_right

Frequently Asked Questions About The Real Valkyrie: The Hidden History of Viking Warrior Women

Book Reviews (0)

0
  |   0  reviews
Did you read The Real Valkyrie: The Hidden History of Viking Warrior Women? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha

No customer reviews for the moment.