The Seventh Most Important Thing
ISBN: 0553497316
EAN13: 9780553497311
Language: English
Release Date: Oct 4, 2016
Pages: 288
Dimensions: 0.79" H x 7.64" L x 5.28" W
Weight: 0.26 lbs.
Format: Paperback
Publisher:
Select Format Format: Paperback Select Conditions Condition: Acceptable

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Acceptable

$3.49
List Price: $9.42
Save: $5.93 (62%)
Quantity
7 Available
Add 4 More to Qualify
Buy 3, Get 1 Free
All Books Under $5

Select Conditions
  • Acceptable $3.49 The Seventh Most Important Thing
  • Good $3.98 The Seventh Most Important Thing
  • Very Good $4.08 The Seventh Most Important Thing
  • New $9.42 The Seventh Most Important Thing
Book Overview

This luminescent (Kirkus Reviews) story of anger and art, loss and redemption will appeal to fans of Lisa Graff's Lost in the Sun and Vince Vawter's Paperboy.

NOMINATED FOR 16 STATE AWARDS
AN ALA NOTABLE BOK
AN ILA TEACHERS CHOICE
A KIRKUS REVIEWS BEST BOK OF THE YEAR

Arthur T. Owens grabbed a brick and hurled it at the trash picker. Arthur had his reasons, and the brick hit the Junk Man in the arm, not the head. But none of that matters to the judge--he is ready to send Arthur to juvie forever. Amazingly, it's the Junk Man himself who offers an alternative: 120 hours of community service . . . working for him.

Arthur is given a rickety shopping cart and a list of the Seven Most Important Things: glass bottles, foil, cardboard, pieces of wood, lightbulbs, coffee cans, and mirrors. He can't believe it--is he really supposed to rummage through people's trash? But it isn't long before Arthur realizes there's more to the Junk Man than meets the eye, and the trash he's collecting is being transformed into something more precious than anyone could imagine. . . .

Inspired by the work of folk artist James Hampton, Shelley Pearsall has crafted an affecting and redemptive novel about discovering what shines within us all, even when life seems full of darkness.

A moving exploration of how there is often so much more than meets the eye. --Booklist, starred review

There are so many things to love about this book. Remarkable. --The Christian Science Monitor

Frequently Asked Questions About The Seventh Most Important Thing

Book Reviews (18)

5
  |   18  reviews
Did you read The Seventh Most Important Thing? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
4
   Redemption
The Seventh Most Important Thing : One of the things I like most about this book is the opportunity for growth. In today's world it is often easier to blame the circumstances of the individual for actions taken in haste. These consequences lead to growth and a deeper understanding of the world around us and sometimes the rashness of our judgment.
 
5
   Great story for all ages
My daughter needed this book for a summer reading book at the school. After poking myself through some of the pages...
 
5
   Total Wowness
Oh so much weep! When Arthur was 13 years old, his father having recently passed away, threw a brick at the neighborhood junk man for wearing his father's hat, and was sent to reform school. He had no idea that the junk man would be his source of redemption. Arthur is sentenced to help the junk man. As his probation, St. James learns that Arthur, as he referred to himself, was collecting junk foil, cardboard, light bulbs, and other items to create a work of art. This work of art is wonderful and is shown at the end of the book and is rather real in and of itself. I loved the story and the historical trash of real life to treasure the artwork tied-in. I got this book for free to review from Netgalley.
 
4
   What creates value?
This intriguing story helps us to look beyond the outside of people and walk a mile in their shoes. But the perception of value of people and things lingers after the story is told. While my granddaughter is too young for this book, I read it with her along.
 
5
   Amazing! Read now!
I honestly thought it was boring because the blurb was boring, the title was boring and everything about it was, well, bore! '' This was an old story about a boy, a nerd, an amazing dying man, and they re-created it all again.
 
5
   Great read aloud book
A true story based on a great work of art. This text is read to 6th graders. The chapters are short and most are cliffhangers, which kept the kids wanting more. We also had fun researching the fictional events that lead to this true story.
 
1
   Marked as new book - seller clearly sent a used one
I bought this as a birthday gift and arrived with several coffee stains, dents and sticky stuff on the cover. The book itself is wonderful. I can 't wait to read it with my 12 year old.
 
5
   my review
The best thing I ever read was the seventh most important book i ever read! I loved it because it has a lot of plot twists, it can be pretty intense and is just amazing! i will recommend this book to everyone highly.
 
5
   My 4th grader loves this book
I bought this item for my son Bought. He started the book in school and then went to the quarantine and he didn 't finish. He says it is one of his favorites.
 
4
   Well Balanced
This felt like the kind of book that could be so intended and so well, that it would sink under its own weight. The first few chapters didn't dispel my concern exactly. But once it gets up and running, we run along, and the messages, such as they are, are leftned by humor and authentic human feeling. This ended as an upbeat, affirmative and not at all preachy testament to the spirit, focus and independence.
 
12