The Sun Is a Compass: A 4,000-Mile Journey Into the Alaskan Wilds
ISBN: 0316414425
EAN13: 9780316414425
Language: English
Publication Date: Mar 19, 2019
Pages: 320
Dimensions: 1" H x 9" L x 6" W
Weight: 1.737243 lbs.
Format: Hardcover
Select Format Format: Hardcover Select Conditions Condition: Very Good

Selected

Format: Hardcover

Condition: Very Good

$7.23
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 1 at this price.

Select Conditions
  • Very Good $7.23 The Sun Is a Compass: A 4,000-Mile Journey Into the Alaskan Wilds
Book Overview

For fans of Hope Jahren, Helen MacDonald, and Cheryl Strayed, the gripping story of a biologist's journey from Washington State to high above the Arctic Circle -- traveling across remote and rugged terrain solely by human power -- to rediscover birds, the natural world, and her own love of science.

During graduate school, as she conducted experiments on the peculiarly misshapen beaks of chickadees, ornithologist Caroline Van Hemert began to feel stifled in the isolated, sterile environment of the lab. Worried that she was losing her passion for the scientific research she once loved, she was compelled to experience wildness again, to be guided by the sounds of birds and to follow the trails of animals.

In March of 2012 she and her husband set off on a 4,000-mile wilderness journey from the Pacific rainforest to the Alaskan Arctic, traveling traveling by rowboat, ski, foot, raft, and canoe. Together, they survived harrowing dangers while also experiencing incredible moments of joy and grace -- migrating birds silhouetted against the moon, the steamy breath of caribou, and the bond that comes from sharing such experiences. A unique blend of science, adventure, and personal narrative, the book explores the bounds of the physical body and the tenuousness of life in the company of creatures whose daily survival is nothing short of miraculous. It is a journey through the heart, the mind, and some of the wildest places left in North America.

In the end, The Sun Is a Compass is a love letter to nature, an inspiring story of endurance, and a beautifully written testament to the resilience of the human spirit.

Frequently Asked Questions About The Sun Is a Compass: A 4,000-Mile Journey Into the Alaskan Wilds

What should you read after The Sun Is a Compass: A 4,000-Mile Journey Into the Alaskan Wilds Book? Here is a list of books to read if you read and loved The Sun Is a Compass: A 4,000-Mile Journey Into the Alaskan Wilds

Book Reviews (0)

0
  |   0  reviews
Did you read The Sun Is a Compass: A 4,000-Mile Journey Into the Alaskan Wilds? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha

No customer reviews for the moment.