The Treeline: The Last Forest And The Future Of Life On Earth
  • The Treeline: The Last Forest And The Future Of Life On Earth
  • The Treeline: The Last Forest And The Future Of Life On Earth
ISBN: 1250270235
EAN13: 9781250270238
Language: English
Release Date: Feb 15, 2022
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover
Select Format Format: Hardcover Select Conditions Condition: New

Selected

Format: Hardcover

Condition: New

$29.99
Quantity
11 Available

Select Conditions
  • New $29.99 The Treeline: The Last Forest And The Future Of Life On Earth
Book Overview

In the tradition of Elizabeth Kolbert and Barry Lopez, a powerful, poetic and deeply absorbing account of the lung at the top of the world.

For the last fifty years, the trees of the boreal forest have been moving north. Ben Rawlence's The Treeline takes us along this critical frontier of our warming planet from Norway to Siberia, Alaska to Greenland, to meet the scientists, residents and trees confronting huge geological changes. Only the hardest species survive at these latitudes including the ice-loving Dahurian larch of Siberia, the antiseptic Spruce that purifies our atmosphere, the Downy birch conquering Scandinavia, the healing Balsam poplar that Native Americans use as a cure-all and the noble Scots Pine that lives longer when surrounded by its family.

It is a journey of wonder and awe at the incredible creativity and resilience of these species and the mysterious workings of the forest upon which we rely for the air we breathe. Blending reportage with the latest science, The Treeline is a story of what might soon be the last forest left and what that means for the future of all life on earth.

Frequently Asked Questions About The Treeline: The Last Forest And The Future Of Life On Earth

Book Reviews (4)

5
  |   4  reviews
Did you read The Treeline: The Last Forest And The Future Of Life On Earth? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
5
   Brilliant
One gains so much knowledge of the boreal forest, the sad and frightening facts that tell what will occur in the future. Learn ways to stop the effects because they can no longer be learned.
 
5
   Full learning experience
Written well, this is an excellent feature film. Fun was had by all. The full adventure is full. A boreal explanation of what happens in the great forest. I aplaud the author for sharing this knowledge.
 
5
   Ecological change in the Boreal is an unfolding drama
A well written around the world visit with different species of tree and the people who study them. Author includes vibrant stories about humans experiencing changes in the forest around them as the world warms. It added immensely to my understanding of the march of the time and the boreal.
 
4
   Very interesting
The author combines a travelog, a popular science book and a personal essay into a coherent and engaging story. The northern forests receive far less attention than their southern counterparts, so it is refreshing to learn more about them. Yes, they are not as colorful and diverse as tropical forests, but can be no less fascinating. You learn from this book, and much more. Here there are a lot of surprising scientific facts. It also provides an interesting new perspective on the subject of climate crisis and nature conservation, with many examples of possible strategies and actions. St. Martin and NetGalley are grateful for an advanced copy of this book.
 
1