The World of Ice & Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones
ISBN: 0553805444
EAN13: 9780553805444
Language: English
Release Date: Oct 28, 2014
Pages: 336
Dimensions: 1.3" H x 12.2" L x 9.25" W
Weight: 4.06 lbs.
Format: Hardcover
Publisher:

The World of Ice & Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones

by
$10.32
List Price: $59.99
Save: $49.67 (82%)
Select Format
Select Format Format: Hardcover Select Conditions Condition: Good

Selected

Format: Hardcover

Condition: Good

$10.32
List Price: $59.99
Save: $49.67 (82%)
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 1 at this price.

Select Conditions
  • Good $10.32 The World of Ice & Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones
  • New $59.99 The World of Ice & Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones
Book Overview

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELER - Perfect for fans of A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO's Game of Thrones--an epic history of Westeros and the lands beyond, featuring hundreds of pages of all-new material from George R. R. Martin

If the past is prologue, then George R. R. Martin's masterwork--the most inventive and entertaining fantasy saga of our time--warrants one hell of an introduction. At long last, it has arrived with The World of Ice & Fire.

This lavishly illustrated volume is a comprehensive history of the Seven Kingdoms, providing vividly constructed accounts of the epic battles, bitter rivalries, and daring rebellions that lead to the events of A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO's Game of Thrones. In a collaboration that's been years in the making, Martin has teamed with Elio M. Garc a, Jr., and Linda Antonsson, the founders of the renowned fan site Westeros.org--perhaps the only people who know this world almost as well as its visionary creator.

Collected here is all the accumulated knowledge, scholarly speculation, and inherited folk tales of maesters and septons, maegi and singers, including

- full-color artwork and maps, with more than 170 original pieces
- full family trees for Houses Stark, Lannister, and Targaryen
- in-depth explorations of the history and culture of Westeros
- 100% Read More chevron_right

Frequently Asked Questions About The World of Ice & Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones

Book Reviews (14)

5
  |   14  reviews
Did you read The World of Ice & Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
2
   A Few Gems of Interesting Information Buried Within
Way too many superlatives, which killed the writing style completely. A substantial part of the content seemed to be a filler '', adding little or nothing to the overall story. It was as if the writers were trying to out-Tolkien '' Tolkien in creating a vast word with lands, peoples, creatures, history, culture, etc. but generally adding little relevancecontext to GoT.
 
3
   Fun if you are a reader of ASOIAF
This book is a nice little look at Westeros'history. While the writing leaves something to be desired, fans of Westeros lore and history will leave satisfied. That said, if you are a fan of the HBO - series Game of Thrones, this may not be for you. Here there is a lot of stuff that you won't recognize or care about because they are not mentioned on the show. But if you read the books, you almost have to read it. I am assuming that you read ASOIAF multiple times - how could you not?
 
4
   and that's pretty obvious from the wording of a few parts
It is not written by GRRM all that much, and that is pretty obvious from the wording of a few parts, but I think there was enough attention in the pages that GRRM had a great deal to do with the final draft. The pictures are really pretty, it's better than I expected. I use it to find most of my past ASOIAF information, such as about the Targaryen kings and about Essos. There are also three family trees in the far back of the book : Targaryen, Lannister and Stark, which I found cool.
 
5
   Not quite the Silmarrilion - but great stuff
As a long time fan of books, most of what is covered here is already known or alluded in various other texts, but not in one place or so completely bound together. The history was fun to read, the illustrations are enjoyable and the structure works well. My only small objection is the book cover, in a puffy mode, which I think takes away from the serious alternate world enthusiast.
 
5
   Beautiful color illustrations on almost every page, massive size book, amazing quality
I bought this book for my wife and I. The book is HUGE first. I had no idea and neither of us expected it to be like the length and width of a normal book. On almost every page there are color illustrations and maps. I wish I had bought it sooner.
 
4
   ... deeper knowledge of the GoT then this is a pretty good book
If you are looking for a deeper knowledge of the GoT, then this is a pretty good book. I read some reviews that are negatively slanted because this person or family did not go deep enough for their liking. I saw it like finding some old text that sheds some light on a history that fascinates us as GoT fans and answers some, but not all our questions. It is a good book if you appreciate learning a little more history, another legend, but if you are looking for the definitive treatise, this is probably not it.
 
5
   The World of Ice & Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones
The book makes a great addition to the coffee table.
 
5
   Great buy!
Very interesting book, filled with tons of info! If it's a game of the Thrones fan, show or book, it is a deep dive into history. It has over 300 pages and is beautiful with illustrations.
 
5
   I highly suggest this book if you are interested in any upcoming prequels. Lots of information!
I bought this for myself to prepare for the upcoming prequels that are in the works, but after looking at it, I know I must get one for my son as well! This is certainly a collector's item. This book has an added thick cover with a raised text3 Dragon Emble emblem on the front that is just beautiful. The pages are full THICK and bursting with colorful illustrations. I like that there are side notes to identify who is in the picture. This is not a book with dialogue between characters, but is rich in history and full of information that could be the basis for several prequels of the book television series Game of Thrones. If you are an avid fan of George R. Martin or the television series, you will definitely want to add this to your collection!
 
5
   The only history book I’ve ever loved
Love it! Gorgeous illustrations by the artist. Binding of high quality and paper is also high. Don 't expect it to be a novel!
 
12