The Extended Mind: The Power of Thinking Outside the Brain
ISBN: 0544947665
EAN13: 9780544947665
Language: English
Pages: 256
Weight: 1 lbs.
Format: Hardcover

The Extended Mind: The Power of Thinking Outside the Brain

Product is currently Out of Stock.
You can add it to your wishlist and you will be notified once we receive a copy.
Book Overview

A bold new book reveals how we can tap the intelligence that exists beyond our brains--in our bodies, our surroundings, and our relationships

Use your head.

That's what we tell ourselves when facing a tricky problem or a difficult project. But a growing body of research indicates that we've got it exactly backwards. What we need to do, says acclaimed science writer Annie Murphy Paul, is think outside the brain. A host of extra-neural resources--the feelings and movements of our bodies, the physical spaces in which we learn and work, and the minds of those around us-- can help us focus more intently, comprehend more deeply, and create more imaginatively.

The Extended Mind outlines the research behind this exciting new vision of human ability, exploring the findings of neuroscientists, cognitive scientists, psychologists, and examining the practices of educators, managers, and leaders who are already reaping the benefits of thinking outside the brain. She excavates the untold history of how artists, scientists, and authors--from Jackson Pollock to Jonas Salk to Robert Caro--have used mental extensions to solve problems, make discoveries, and create new works. In the tradition of Howard Gardner's Frames of Mind or Daniel Goleman's Emotional Intelligence, The Extended Mind offers a dramatic new view of how our minds work, full of practical advice on how we can all think better.

Frequently Asked Questions About The Extended Mind: The Power of Thinking Outside the Brain

Book Reviews (0)

0
  |   0  reviews
Did you read The Extended Mind: The Power of Thinking Outside the Brain? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha

No customer reviews for the moment.