This Light Between Us: A Novel Of World War Ii
  • This Light Between Us: A Novel Of World War Ii
  • This Light Between Us: A Novel Of World War Ii
ISBN: 1250192390
EAN13: 9781250192394
Language: English
Release Date: Mar 9, 2021
Pages: 384
Dimensions: 1" H x 8" L x 5" W
Weight: 1.113334 lbs.
Format: Paperback
Publisher:
Select Format Format: Paperback Select Conditions Condition: New

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: New

$11.99
Quantity
113 Available

Select Conditions
  • New $11.99 This Light Between Us: A Novel Of World War Ii
Book Overview

This Description may be from another edition of this product.

Winner of the American Library Association's Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature

For readers of The Librarian Of Auschwitz, This Light Between Us is a powerfully affecting story of World War I about the unlikeliest of pen pals--a Japanese American boy and a French Jewish girl--as they fight to maintain hope in a time of war.

I remember visiting Manzanar and standing in the windswept plains where over ten thousand internees were once imprisoned, their voices cut off. I remember how much I wanted to write a story that did right by them. Hopefully this book delivers.--Andrew Fukuda

In 1935, ten-year-old Alex Maki from Bainbridge Island, Washington is disgusted when he's forced to become pen pals with Charlie L vy of Paris, France--a girl. He thought she was a boy. In spite of Alex's reluctance, their letters continue to fly across the Atlantic--and along with them, the shared hopes and dreams of friendship. Until the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor and the growing Nazi persecution of Jews force them to confront the darkest aspects of human nature.

From the desolation of an internment camp on the plains of Manzanar to the horrors of Auschwitz and the devastation of European battlefields, the only thing they can hold onto are the memories of their letters. But nothing can dispel the light between them.

Frequently Asked Questions About This Light Between Us: A Novel Of World War Ii

Book Reviews (6)

5
  |   6  reviews
Did you read This Light Between Us: A Novel Of World War Ii? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
5
   Fascinating Story
My grandson recommended this book to me. This book opens the mind about the past prejudices and history of WW2. Very relevant for today's troubling times.
 
4
   Seldom-covered but essential aspect of WW II
This was my first book by Andrew Fukuda, which I read for a book club and was very impressed. Although I am somewhat of a WW II buff and I was already familiar with the Manzanar story, the book opened my eyes to this shameful stain on our country's history pages, and I am glad Mr. Fukuda chose to write about it. Without spoilers, I will say that the only plot point I could not fathom was the description of Alex's connection with his family during his deployment to Europe. It was the only part of the book that did not ring true to me. But aside from this disappointment, the rest of the book really resonated with me. Recommended :
 
5
   Amazing
Well written and mesmerizing, as the story of the Japanese internment camps contrasts with the gathering of the Jews and the horrific events of the Holocaust woven into a live story of souls of ho never met in person.
 
5
   Much beauty & evil
I HIGHLY recommend this book... 2 very different horrors at the same time in different countries! Thank you for a very heartfelt story! ! The Gig!
 
5
   This book was amazing.
This book was heartbreakingly devastating. It is the only Holocaust book that I have put a romance sticker on my middle school library. Adults and teens have all loved, cherished this book.
 
3
   did not like the magical realism thrown in
When I read historical fiction, I expect a realistic story set in history. There was so much attention paid to detail and a really good story that deserves to be told more often. But, and it's a big but, I hate when authors unexpectedly throw in some magical realism. I wish it was clear in the description of the book that elements such are included. To come across them suddenly, when I think I am reading historical fiction, pulls me out of the story and I immediately roll my eyes. The story had such potential and I enjoyed much of it, but it started to lose me quickly as soon as the magic papers showed up.
 
1