Truly Devious: A Mystery
  • Truly Devious: A Mystery
  • Truly Devious: A Mystery
  • Truly Devious: A Mystery
  • Truly Devious: A Mystery
  • Truly Devious: A Mystery
  • Truly Devious: A Mystery
ISBN: 0062338064
EAN13: 9780062338068
Language: English
Release Date: Dec 4, 2018
Pages: 448
Dimensions: 1.01" H x 8" L x 5.31" W
Weight: 0.65 lbs.
Format: Paperback
Select Format Format: Paperback Select Conditions Condition: Good

Selected

Format: Paperback

Condition: Good

$4.21
List Price: $15.99
Save: $11.78 (73%)
Quantity
28 Available
Add 4 More to Qualify
Buy 3, Get 1 Free
All Books Under $5

Select Conditions
  • Very Good $4.21 Truly Devious: A Mystery
  • Good $4.21 Truly Devious: A Mystery
  • Acceptable $4.21 Truly Devious: A Mystery
  • New $15.99 Truly Devious: A Mystery
Book Overview

This Description may be from another edition of this product.

New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and E. Lockhart.

Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, twisting pathways, and gardens. A place, he said, where learning is a game.

Shortly after the school opened, his wife and daughter were kidnapped. The only real clue was a mocking riddle listing methods of murder, signed with the frightening pseudonym Truly, Devious. It became one of the great unsolved crimes of American history.

True-crime aficionado Stevie Bell is set to begin her first year at Ellingham Academy, and she has an ambitious plan: She will solve this cold case. That is, she will solve the case when she gets a grip on her demanding new school life and her housemates: the inventor, the novelist, the actor, the artist, and the jokester.

But something strange is happening. Truly Devious makes a surprise return, and death revisits Ellingham Academy. The past has crawled out of its grave. Someone has gotten away with Read More chevron_right

Frequently bought together

Total price: $12.58

Add all 3 to Cart Add all 3 to list

Frequently Asked Questions About Truly Devious: A Mystery

Truly Devious Series In Order - By Maureen Johnson

Book Reviews (11)

5
  |   11  reviews
Did you read Truly Devious: A Mystery? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
4
   Didn’t put it down
Age rating (in my opinion): 12+ (mentions of sex, brief making out)

I loved this series, and read it very quickly, but it was a bit of a slow-burn, which I usually love, but i just felt like it needed to go a bit faster. That’s the only reason i gave it 4 stars. I loved the protagonist, Stevie, though, and absolutely adored Nate. Definitely recommend.
 
5
   Simply Brilliant!
Teen Queen of Teen, Mary Elizabeth W. Johnson, proves again why she is the talk of the town. This is a great series for teens and adults who want to be captivated by a true master of mystery.
 
5
   a lot of twists and turns
The book was a lot of twists and turns and surprises, Hughes said. Both the book and the mystery are well written.
 
5
   One of my alltime favourites!
This book was absolutely incredible, and I couldn't recommend it enough. This book is a cozy murder mystery that keeps you on the end of you seat the entire time, the complex and original plot combined with Maureen Johnson's ammzing writing style makes for an amazing book that you won't ever want to put down.
 
5
   The Game is Afoot
I'm glad I did. This book is truly devious and truly delicious, Levine said.
 
5
   Great mystery!
Loved the way the two stories fused, said Gillian Malloch. The Cullens are central to the story. It was great fun, and I'll be back for more! Loved it! It was great fun, and I'll be back for more!
 
4
   A Good Story, but comes with an Agenda
I love a good mystery, and it is fascinating the way she goes back and forth between 1936 and 2018," said Lee Childers, executive director of the National Book Foundation.
 
3
   Not my favorite of her books, but still liked it
I've known Maureen Johnson for a long time. The storyline for this book was right up my alley, Melissa wrote. Stevie is not interested in music, nor is he a big deal, Mr. Rule told the judge. I can relate. My only complaint is that i felt this book had no real momentum, and we finally started to get somewhere with the book and it ended up being a total flop. There is a book two, so I know there is a lot more to come. But honestly, if i didn't already love her books and was a reader reading her stuff for the first time, i would have been disappointed. No real cliffhanger either.
 
2
   Fascinating... until the cliffhanger ending
The first rule of murder mysteries is that no one is truly dead. It's always the killer at the end. There are some wonderful, suspenseful writing here, but ending with To Be Continued without telling us whounitd is unforgivable.
 
5
   I don't always like YA books (I'm very out of the demographic
I don't always like YA books, but I've enjoyed Michael Green's "The Fall" series and am excited to see what happens next. I also bought the Kindle ebook for myself and a physical copy of the book for my Little Free Library.
 
12