When We Make It
ISBN: 059332448X
EAN13: 9780593324486
Language: English
Release Date: Sep 21, 2021
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover
Publisher:
Select Format Format: Hardcover Select Conditions Condition: New

Selected

Format: Hardcover

Condition: New

$19.99
Quantity
Almost Gone!
Only 5 at this price.

Select Conditions
  • New $19.99 When We Make It
Book Overview

The energy. The clarity. The beauty. Elisabet Velasquez brings it all. . . . Her voice is FIRE --New York Times bestselling author Jacqueline Woodson

An unforgettable debut young adult novel-in-verse that redefines what it means to make it, touching on themes of mental illness, sexual assault, food insecurity and gentrification, for readers of Nicholasa Mohr and Elizabeth Acevedo.

Sarai is a first-generation Puerto Rican eighth grader who can see with clarity the truth, pain, and beauty of the world both inside and outside her Bushwick apartment. Together with her older sister Estrella, she navigates the strain of family traumas and the systemic pressures of toxic masculinity and housing insecurity in a rapidly gentrifying Brooklyn. Sarai questions the society around her, her Boricua identity, and the life she lives with determination and an open heart, learning to celebrate herself in a way that she has been denied.

When We Make It is a love letter to anyone who was taught to believe that they would not make it. To those who feel their emotions before they can name them. To those who still may not have all the language but they have their story. Velasquez' debut novel is sure to leave an indelible mark on all who read it.

Frequently Asked Questions About When We Make It

Book Reviews (8)

5
  |   8  reviews
Did you read When We Make It? Please provide your feedback and rating to help other readers.
Write Review
Captcha
5
   Amazing story in the form of poems and prose.
I enjoyed this book ''. I loved the fact that it was a story in verse form and easy to follow ''. The book evoked emotions and made me tear.
 
5
   Loved this book!
I have loved this book! It is a must-read if you are a Puerto Rican from Brooklyn. The left me feeling nostalgic. I've always felt connected to the characters and the neighborhood. The connection I feel to the characters will stay with me forever.
 
5
   From the heart
I followed this author on Instagram for years before she wrote this book, and was so excited to own her words in print. Excellent art & style! An ambitious writer inspires an inspiring artist.
 
5
   Must have, Must read !!!
This book has some of the most refreshing content, living in the West Coast, this book places the love and recognition of BIPOC in New York. It focuses on family dynamics and is transparent from the beginning. It speaks honestly about pregnancy, both before and after, and also speaks to readers about hope and resilience. This is a great book, it is a fast read but extraordinary narrative!
 
5
   Heartwarming
While heart-breaking, this is such a beautiful written story. It is written in verse and Elizabet does this so well. It follows the main character's experience in growing up in Bushwick. It definitely touches some traumatic events and struggles in her life that break her heart, but is also full of hope. It is inspiring to see such a real raw story.
 
3
   More poetic
I bought this thinking that it was going to be a story or a novel, instead the format is more poetic. Not for me.
 
5
   such an incredible read
When I was a teen, I read YA books like Sista Souljah's The Coldest Winter Ever '' and Clark '' in an attempt to feel seen in the complexities of my life. I was too afraid to write because writing made true life experiences painful, so I read to escape. This is the book I needed as a teenager to feel seen as a young Puerto Rican girl fighting to have her pain validated in a world aimed to make me dump those feelings. I hope that this book is shared as many students as possible with.
 
5
   Your will read over and over and cry and laugh and….
I've been following Elisabet on Instagram for a while, and has been a very excellent writer. She makes you feel the feelings you haven t felt in Foreva! She speaks and you just want her to stop! Muchas gracias por todo y por favor nunca olvides que importante y increble eres, ayer, hoy y siempre!
 
1